Symbols and logos shown on this page may be copyrighted or trademarked by their respective owners. You must have the owner’s permission to copy any copyrighted material or a trademark.

Single post from

Monday, June 08, 2015

TAANA Recognizes NNNO President Teri Mills MS, RN, CNE

The American Association of Nurse Attorneys honored NNNO President Teri Mills MS, RN, CNE with the 2014 humanitarian award in honor of Mary Eleanor McGarvah, the first nurse attorney.

The award is granted to an individual or group that has made a significant contribution to the development of health law, nursing and policy. Naming the award in honor of Mary Eleanor McGarvah is recognition of her contribution to the public's health and to society in her role of attorney and public health nurse.

Ms. McGarvah was born in 1886. She graduated from nursing school in 1911 and law school in 1929. She devoted her life to public service, working for the Detroit Health Department almost a half century. She focused her energies as a nurse and as an attorney on public health law enforcement, and often stated that her goals were to improve maternal and infant health. She initiated reform and public policy in licensure of midwives, nursing homes and mental health hospitals from 1914 until her death in 1979.

The first McGarvah Award was presented to Tipper Gore in 1998. Another notable recipient was U.S. Representative Lois Capps (CA) in 2003.

Pictured: Tara Candela MSN, RN, JD; Kathy Mancusi RN, ESQ; Jacqueline Walus-Wigle RN, CPHQ, ESQ; Teri Mills MS, RN, CNE; Trudy Kiaunis BSN, JD

Mills was given this award for her significant humanitarian contributions for leading the National Nursing Network Organization in advocating for the establishment of the National Nurse for Public Health.

The National Nursing Network Organization Team—Monday, June 08, 2015  

 Comments (0)